Date Time Competition Season
21 May 2022 7:15 pm United Rugby Championship 2021/22

Match Report

Leinster come good in Inter-pro Derby

Munster saw their hopes for a home quarter-final dashed, as they fell to an under-strength Leinster in a 35-25 thriller at Aviva Stadium in the United Rugby Championship.

Despite resting a number of key first team players, Leinster produced an attacking masterclass as they earned their eighth win in nine against Munster, and ensured they did the double over Johann Van Graan’s team for the third time since 2017.

The United Rugby Championship regular season came to an enthralling and a fitting conclusion in Dublin, as the two rivals combined for seven tries at Aviva Stadium. 

Munster were faced with a tough task heading into the weekend, having not won in Dublin in the regular season since the 2014-15 season. But an already tough task was made just a little bit harder, as the Bulls defeated the Ospreys last night and the Stormers grabbed a late winner against the Scarlets in Llanelli. 

Van Graan’s team were left needing a bonus point win if they were to secure a top two berth, and either a win or two losing bonus points to secure a home quarter-final. But Munster couldn’t get the job done and now face a trip to Ulster in the quarter-finals. 

Munster’s quest got off to the worst possible start as Scott Penny scored for Leinster in the first two minutes. Harry Byrne extended the hosts lead minutes later as he slotted over a penalty to make it 8-0.

However, Van Graan’s men fought back quickly and scored two tries in quick succession with Jack O’Donoghue and Mike Haley crashing over to earn the visitors an 8-12 lead.

Leo Cullen’s team weren’t to be denied though as Cormac Foley scored a delightful try moments later. But delight soon turned to despair for the hosts, as Ciaran Frawley exited with a head injury and Rob Russell was sin-binned for an intentional knock-on moments later.

Munster capitalised on their numerical advantage to begin the second half, as Conor Murray scored the team’s third of the evening. Byrne and Joey Carbery traded penalties to leave Munster with an 18-22 advantage.

However, that proved to be as good as it got for Munster as Leinster were awarded a penalty try. Niall Scannell illegally collapsed a driving maul, and was handed his marching orders for his troubles, leaving Munster with 14 men. 

The defending champions quickly capitalised on the advantage as Rory O’Loughlin scored on potentially his final outing for the province, before Byrne iced the game with his third penalty. 

To compound matters for Munster, Johann Van Graan has been left with a number of fitness headaches. Andrew Conway, Alex Kendellen, Tom Ahern and Jack Daly were all forced to leave early due to injuries, leaving Van Graan with a number of worries ahead of their trip to Belfast in two weeks time. 


15Jordan Larmour Winger
14Robbie Russell Full-Back 38'
13Jamie Osborne Full-Back
12Ciaran Frawley 23 Fly-Half
11Rory O’Loughlin Centre 54'
10Harry Byrne 22 Fly-Half 23', 55'
9', 46', 70'
9Cormac Foley 21 Scrum-Half 22'
1Ed Byrne 18 Prop
2Sean Cronin 16 Hooker
3Tom Clarkson 17 Prop
4Joe McCarthy 20 Lock
5Josh Murphy 19 Flanker
6Ryan Baird Lock
7Scott Penny Flanker 2'
8Max Deegan No. 8
16John McKee 2 Hooker
17Peter Dooley 3 Prop
18Cian Healy 1 Prop
19Devin Toner 5 Lock
20Alex Soroka 4 Flanker
21Ben Murphy 9 Scrum-Half
22David Hawkshaw 10 Centre
23Adam Byrne 12 Winger


15Mike Haley Full-Back 16'
14Andrew Conway 22 Winger
13Chris Farrell Centre
12Dan Goggin 23 Centre
11Keith Earls Winger
10Joey Carbery Fly-Half 17', 42'
49', 61'
9Conor Murray 21 Scrum-Half 41'
1Josh Wycherley 17 Prop
2Niall Scannell 16 Hooker 52'
3John Ryan 18 Prop
4Jean Kleyn 19 Lock
5Thomas Ahern 20 Lock
6Fineen Wycherley Flanker
7Alex Kendellen Flanker
8Jack O’Donoghue No. 8 12'
16Diarmuid Barron 2 Hooker
17Jeremy Loughman 1 Prop
18Keynan Knox 3 Prop
19Jason Jenkins 4 Lock
20Jack Daly 5 Forward
21Craig Casey 9 Scrum-Half
22Ben Healy 14 Back
23Rory Scannell 12 Centre

Past Meetings

(Round 15)
19 - 34
United Rugby Championship
Thomond Park

Munster v Leinster

(Round 3)
7 - 19
Women's Senior Interprovincials
Energia Park

Leinster v Munster

16 - 6
Royal Dublin Society

Leinster v Munster

(Round 9)
10 - 13
Thomond Park

Munster v Leinster


Aviva Stadium
Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road, Sandymount, Pembroke West ED, Dublin, County Dublin, Leinster, D04 CA43, Ireland