Date Time Competition Season
22 October 2021 7:35 pm United Rugby Championship 2021/22

Match Report

Leinster continue unbeaten start

Leinster continued their unbeaten start to the inaugural United Rugby Championship, as they secured a bonus point 31-15 victory over Glasgow Warriors.

Tries from Ronan Kelleher, Hugo Keenan, Adam Byrne, and Dan Sheehan secured the win for the visitors.

Glasgow Warriors hit back through tries from Jack Dempsey and Lewis Bean, but were well beaten.

The win seals five straight victories to kick off their URC campaign, and the Irish champions look unstoppable thus far, with four dominant bonus point wins from five.

Leinster’s early dominance was rewarded through Ross Byrne’s fifth minute penalty and scored the game’s first try just two minutes later.

Player of the Match Kelleher was picked out by a fantastic offload by Dan Leavy and the hooker danced down the touchline, evading tackles like a winger to score.

Hugo Keenan then went through after great quick ball by the visitors and a clever offload from the impressive James Lowe.

Just before half time, Ireland No.8 Jack Conan was sent to the sin bin for playing the ball on the floor.

The hosts got back into the game on the stroke of half time as former Waratahs forward Jack Dempsey went over from close range.

But Leinster scored their third try after half time through Adam Byrne who finished a delicious backline move in the corner.

The bonus point win was secured when substitute Dan Sheehan went over from close range.

After that score, the game fell flat, and the previous raucous Glasgow crowd were silenced due to Leinster’s dominance.

In the closing minutes, substitute scrum half Jamison Gibson-Park was yellow carded for a push to the face on his opposite number – Pete Horne.

The home crowd were sent home with a consolation score to cheer about when their side capitalised on the extra man as Lewis Beem went over from close range. 

Glasgow Warriors

15Ross Thompson Fly-Half 40'
14Kyle Steyn Winger
13Sione Tuipulotu 22 Centre
12Sam Johnson Centre
11Rufus McLean Winger
10Duncan Weir 23 Fly-Half
9Ali Price 21 Scrum-Half
1Jamie Bhatti 17 Prop
2Johnny Matthews 16 Forward
3Zander Fagerson 18 Prop
4Rob Harley 19 Flanker
5Richie Gray Lock
6Ryan Wilson Flanker
7Rory Darge 20 Flanker
8Jack Dempsey No. 8 39'
16George Turner 2 Hooker
17Oli Kebble 1 Prop
18Enrique Pieretto Heiland 3 Prop
19Lewis Bean 4 Forward 80'
20Matt Fagerson 7 No. 8
21George Horne 9 Scrum-Half
22Nick Grigg 13 Centre
23Cole Forbes 10 Full-Back


15Hugo Keenan Full-Back 28'
14Adam Byrne Winger 52'
13Garry Ringrose 22 Centre
12Ciaran Frawley Fly-Half
11James Lowe Winger
10Ross Byrne Fly-Half 9', 29', 53', 62'
9Luke McGrath 23 Scrum-Half
1Cian Healy 16 Prop
2Ronan Kelleher 17 Hooker 7'
3Tadhg Furlong 18 Prop
4Ross Molony Lock
5Ryan Baird 19 Lock
6Caelan Doris 20 Flanker
7Dan Leavy 21 Flanker
8Jack Conan No. 8 38'
16Ed Byrne 1 Prop
17Dan Sheehan 2 Hooker
18Michael Alaalatoa 3 Prop
19Devin Toner 5 Lock
20Rhys Ruddock 6 Flanker
21Josh Van Der Flier 7 Flanker
22Jamie Osborne 13 Back
23Jamison Gibson-Park 9 Scrum-Half

Past Meetings

(Round 13)
40 - 21
Royal Dublin Society

Leinster v Glasgow Warriors

(Round 4)
19 - 32
Scotstoun Stadium

Glasgow Warriors v Leinster


Scotstoun Stadium
Danes Drive, Glasgow City, Scotland, G14 9BH, United Kingdom

I am a Sports Journalism & PR graduate from Staffordshire University. During my time at Final Whistle, I have covered the LOI National League, international games and the Women’s National League. Outside of Final Whistle, I am a researcher for World Rugby and a writer for The Rugby Paper.