Date Time Competition Season
1 January 2022 5:15 pm United Rugby Championship 2021/22

Match Report

Connacht back to winning ways

Connacht returned back to winning ways in the United Rugby Championship, a second half Bundee Aki try converted by substitute Conor Fitzgerald, gave them a 10-8 win over Munster at the Sportsground this evening.

Munster had controlled the opening half, Andrew Conway crossing for their opening try on the 22nd minute, as Jack Carty and Ben Healy both exchanged penalties, giving the Southern province a 8-3 half time lead.

Carty was forced off before the break and is a major blow for his team, but they dug deep and worked well to cross for their try near the hour mark, Fitzgerald landing the all important conversion against a stiff breeze.

Carty kicked the opening score of the game in the 15th minute, the fly half making no mistakes from the tee to give them a 3-0 lead. His counterpart Healy levelled from the tee just two minutes later, with a penalty of his own.

Munster got the opening try in the 22nd minute, Healy blocked a Mack Hansen kick, Shane Daly failed to bring it under control but Andrew Conway managed to touch down for the try.

Oisín Dowling was shown a yellow card just three minutes from half time, an illegal challenge halting Munsters charge towards the posts. The visitors worked hard with numerous pick and goes but failed to make headway, as they took a 8-3 lead into the break.

A half time fracas resulted in Healy and Dave Heffernan being shown the sin bin after the restart, the woes piled on for Connacht now down to 13 men, they also had Carty taken off just before the end of the opening half.

The Westerners drove hard and a driving maul got their reward near the hour mark, as Aki got their opening try, with Fitzgerald making it a two point lead 10-8.

A ten-week break from URC action did not seem to harm Munster in the long run, despite their recent Covid cancellations and a lack of first team regulars, the club worked hard but could not close the gap in the end, as Connacht were the deserved winners on the night.


15Tiernan O’Halloran Full-Back
14John Porch 23 Winger
13Sam Arnold Centre
12Bundee Aki Centre 59'
11Mack Hansen Fly-Half
10Jack Carty 22 Fly-Half 15'
9Kieran Marmion Scrum-Half
1Matthew Burke 17 Prop
2Dave Heffernan 16 Hooker 40'
3Finlay Bealham 18 Prop
4Ultan Dillane 19 Lock
5Oisin Dowling Flanker 37'
6Cian Prendergast 20 Lock
7Conor Oliver Flanker
8Jarrad Butler No. 8
16Shane Delahunt 2 Hooker
17Tietie Tuimauga 1 Prop
18Dominic Robertson-McCoy 3 Prop
19Eoghan Masterson 4 Lock
20Abraham Papali’i 6 No. 8
21Matthew Devine Scrum-Half
22Conor Fitzgerald 10 Fly-Half 59'
23Thomas Farrell 14 Centre


15Mike Haley Full-Back
14Andrew Conway Winger 22'
13Chris Farrell Centre 57'
12Damian DeAllende Centre
11Shane Daly Centre
10Ben Healy Back 17'
9Craig Casey 21 Scrum-Half
1Dave Kilcoyne 16 Prop
2Niall Scannell 17 Hooker
3Stephen Archer 18 Prop
4Jean Kleyn 19 Lock
5Fineen Wycherley Lock
6Jack O’Donoghue Flanker
7Alex Kendellen 20 Full-Back
8Gavin Coombes Flanker
16Diarmuid Barron 1 Hooker
17Jeremy Loughman 2 Prop
18Keynan Knox 3 Prop
19Thomas Ahern 4 Forward
20Jack Daly 7 Forward
21Neil Cronin 9 Scrum-Half
22Jack Crowley Full-Back
23Rory Scannell Centre

Past Meetings

(Round 4)
20 - 18
United Rugby Championship
Thomond Park

Munster v Connacht

(Round 2)
31 - 7
Women's Senior Interprovincials
Virgin Media Park

Munster v Connacht

(Round 14)
20 - 17
Thomond Park

Munster v Connacht

(Round 11)
10 - 16
Dexcom Stadium

Connacht vs Munster


Dexcom Stadium
The Sportsgrounds, Galway City, County Galway, Ireland

Diarmuid Kearney is a freelance Sports Journalist based in Co Kerry. He has more than 5 years experience covering domestic and international soccer for different media organisations, while also working for local and national print and digital organisations covering GAA.