Date Time Competition Season
13 August 2022 7:00 pm Leitrim Senior Football Championship 2022

Please support our match sponsor:

Match Report

Sean O’Heslins campaign to retain Senior title begins with victory

Defending Champions Ballinamore Sean O'Heslins started their Leitrim Senior Football Championship campaign with a comfortable victory over new boys St. Patrick's Dromahair in a sunny St. Osnett's on Saturday evening.

Padraig Clancy's side who secured their slot in the senior grade after securing the Intermediate grade last year were given a very tough start to life at the top table when they drew Ballinamore in the opening game.

The finishing power of their forward unit was key as Sean O'Heslin's managed to set the ball rolling early in the encounter with scores from Dillon Beirne and brothers Shane & Paul Moran putting the visitors ahead before Martin Feeney pointed for Dromahair.

The dual star would end the encounter with seven points to his name but his side couldn't live with the pre-match favourites Sean O'Heslins who scored three points for every Dromahair strike in the first half to leave them 0-10 to 0-03 ahead at the interval. No fewer than eight Ballinamore men contributed those scores.

A flurry of scores for Feeney early in the second half gave the home fans some hope of recovery bringing the gap down to five points but a purple patch including a fine goal by Paul Moran put the result out of reach of the newcomers well before the end of the encounter.

The visitors continued to keep the score board ticking over until the final whistle but were well worth their 15 point winning margin at the final whistle.


1John McGoldrick Goalkeeper
2Jamie McLoughlin Defender
3Rory Kelly Goalkeeper
4Fergal McMorrow Defender
5Declan Fowley Defender
6Jamie Conlon Defender 23'
7Keelan McLoughlin Defender
8Martin Clancy Defender
9Adrian Fowley Midfielder
10Shane Fowley 17 Midfielder
11Martin Feeney Forward 13', 31', 32', 36', 37', 53', 60+3'
12James Morrison Midfielder
13Gary Fowley Forward
14Darragh McMorrow 21 Forward
15James Clinton Forward
17Conor Morrison 10 Defender
18Cian Forde Forward
19Sean Foley Forward
20Terry O’Rourke Defender
21Diarmuid Giblin 14 Forward

Sean O'Heslins

1Darren Maxwell Goalkeeper
2Eoin Shanley 18 Defender
3Matthew Murphy Defender
4Liam Ferguson Defender
5Wayne McKeon Midfielder 26', 50'
6Oisin McCaffrey Defender
7Keelan McHugh Defender
8Dean McGovern Forward
9Shane Moran Midfielder 4', 17', 49'
10Michael McKiernan Forward 29', 40', 42'
11Dillon Beirne Forward 2', 20', 46'
12Senan Harte Defender
13Paul Moran Forward 41'
9', 34', 52', 57'
14Mark McGrory Forward 15'
15Niall McGovern 17 Forward 29', 32', 39'
17Brian Banks 15 Defender
18Brian Leyden 2 Forward 55'
19Seamus Wisley Defender
20Peter Reynolds Forward
21Nathan McCartin Defender
22Andrew Burns Forward
23Darragh Murphy Forward
24James Honeyman Forward


St. Osnetts Glencar
Lurganboy ED, Manorhamilton Municipal District, Connacht, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.