Date Time Competition Season
24 September 2022 3:45 pm Leitrim IFC 2022

Match Report

Aughnasheelin dismiss Bornacoola challenge

Aughnasheelin marched into the semi-finals of the Smith Monumentals Intermediate Football Championship with a comprehensive thirteen- point victory over Bornacoola in Avant Money Pairc Seán MacDiarmada on Saturday, running out winners by 3-10 to 0-06.

The game was over as a contest just seven minutes into the second-half as Aughnasheelin had built up a cushion of thirteen points, leading by 2-09 to 0-02 at that stage with the goals coming from Fintan Fitzpatrick and Brendan Mulvey.

The victors scored the first two points of the match courtesy of Ciaran Cullen and Darragh Gunn before Ronan Mulligan responded with a ninth minute free for the Bors.

Fintan Fitzpatrick then reeled of 1-02 in the space of six minutes, adding two points from frees, and then rattling the Bornacoola net on nineteen minutes when rifling past opposition keeper Daniel Farrell in a one-on-one scenario with the Bors stopper.

Joe Earley and Fitzpatrick again with another free added further points for Aughnasheelin, while Ronan Mulligan’s second free just before half-time left eight points between the sides at the interval, as Aughnasheelin were ahead by 1-07 to 0-02.

Five minutes into the second half, Brendan Murray scored Aughnasheelin’s second goal when finishing off a fine move after receiving a superb pass from the impressive Ciaran Cullen. Fitzpatrick then added his fourth and fifth points of the match to give the victors a 2-09 to 0-02 cushion with just seven minutes of the second half elapsed.

Bornacoola rallied briefly to fire over the next two scores, the first, a free from keeper Daniel Farrell, and then their first point from play which came from the boot of Sean O’Riordan.

Mulvey and Mallon then swapped points which meant that Aughnasheelin were still in cruise control, leading by 2-10 to 0-05 with the game moving into stoppage time.

Aughnasheelin scored their third and final goal in the first minute of added time when Joe Earley went on a brilliant diagonal run from the left and his attempted hand pass to Mulvey was diverted into his own net by Bornacoola defender David Mulligan.

Cian Mallon concluded the scoring with a late consolation point for the losers.

Aughnasheelin will take on Kiltubrid in the last four, while Annaduff and Allen Gaels will clash in the other semi-final.


1Kevin McWeeney Goalkeeper
2Paul Earley Defender
3Wayne Gilgunn Defender
4Ciaran Cullen 20 Defender 1'
5Cillian Cullen 21 Defender
6Sean McWeeney Defender
7Niall Gallagher Defender 15'
8Cormac Sammon Midfielder
9Aaron Hoare Forward
10Darragh Gunn Forward 2', 9'
11Brendan Mulvey Midfielder 35'
12Joseph Earley Forward 60'
19Piaras McTeigue Defender
14Fintan Fitzpatrick 13 Forward 18'
11', 13', 24', 36', 37'
15Gavin Sammon Forward
16Martin McHugh Goalkeeper
13Fergal Flynn 14 Forward 49'
17Christy McNulty Forward
18Cathal Egan Defender
20Brian Boyle 4 Forward
21Dean Flanagan 5 Forward
22Michael Domican Defender
23Sean Flynn Defender
24Damien Gilheaney Defender
25Shalyn Mulligan Defender
26Ronan White Forward


1Daniel Farrell Goalkeeper 38'
2David Mulligan Defender
3Damien McGuinness 23 Defender
4Jason Conroy Defender
5Brian Duffy Defender
19Liam Mulligan 13 Defender 20'
7Ciaran McGlynn 18 Defender
8Cian Mallon Midfielder 50', 59'
9Liam Jones Midfielder
10Kevin Mulligan 20 Defender
11Sean McKeon Forward
12Ollie Vaughan Forward 10'
14Damian Moran Midfielder
15Ronan Mulligan Forward 5', 24'
22Sean O’Riordan 21 Forward 39'
16Jake Shiels Goalkeeper
6Allan Croghan Defender
13Conor McCauley 19 Forward
17Mervyn Howard Defender
18Alan Bohan 7 Forward
20Robert O’Beirne 10 Forward
21Gearoid Mulligan 22 Forward
23Sean Ryan 3 Defender
24Tony Shanley Defender
25Conor Fanning
26Anthony Mulligan Midfielder
27Mark Muldowney Defender

Past Meetings

(Round 2)
3-15 1-10
Leitrim IFC

(Round 3)
1-10 1-13
Leitrim IFC


Pairc Sean MacDiarmada
Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada, Carrick on Shannon, Co. Leitrim, N41 XE89, Ireland

An experienced sports broadcaster and commentator for over two decades with Shannonside / Northern Sound Radio and the Longford Leader newspaper, amongst other regional outlets.