Date Time Competition Season
10 June 2023 4:00 pm Tailteann Cup 2023

Match Report

Wexford stun Offaly to advance in Tailteann

Thanks to awful Offaly in-discipline and moments of magic from Mark Rossiter, Wexford weaved their way into the Tailteann Cup quarter-finals, thanks to a preliminary victory today. 

In a high-scoring opening half of entertainment, Brian Molloy and Cian Farrell slotted early points as both sides settled into the contest.

With eight minutes elapsed though, Offaly hit the front courtesy of a goal, Anton Sullivan tucking a penalty past Wexford goalkeeper Darragh Brooks, as the hosts went 1-1 to 0-1 in front.

Eoghan Nolan and Sullivan exchanged points before Wexford narrowed the gap, Molloy’s second and Glen Malone’s point hauling them to within one. 

Nigel Dunne replied for Offaly, but their two-point lead was swiftly swallowed up after Nolan and Robbie Brooks pointed accurately. 

Farrell and Dunne replenished the buffer for the home side and after Nolan and Dunne, with his third point, swapped scores, they led by a slender 1-6 to 0-7 scoreline.

Then came a wave of Wexford momentum, Padraig Hughes, Kevin O’Grady, and Mark Rossiter all accurate to not only bring them level but also edge themselves ahead by a point.

Ruairi McNamee looked like he’d restored parity before the interval but Rossiter, collecting a fine ball from Hughes, tucked a goal away with aplomb as the visitors, who had themselves been reeling off a goal concession earlier, took a 1-10 to 1-7 lead in at half time.

As the second half commenced, O’Connor Park was tense, both fans knowing this could be sides’ last involvement in this season’s Tailteann Cup.

Ciaran Donnelly closed the gap with the second half’s first point before Wexford flexed their attacking muscles once more.

Rossiter, twice, Nolan and O’Grady doing the damage in between Joe Maher’s red card, the Offaly man collecting his second yellow Rossiter took his total tally to five.

Replacement Bernard Allen cancelled out Molloy’s third point before Peter Cunningham made it a five-point difference, 1-10 to 1-15 after fifty minutes.

Hughes and Malone both bagged their match brace apiece before McNamee and substitute Ben Brosnan kicked a point over each.

Brosnan then repeated the feat this time with Allen’s second before Brooks bagged himself a brace, getting in on the scoring party.

McNamee and Allen both went one better, hitting individual hat tricks before John Turbitt and Rossiter, fittingly, rounded off the Wexford scoring.

Sandwiching their scores was a hero to zero moment for Offaly goal scorer Sullivan, getting himself booked and black carded, their ill-discipline again haunting them to the groans of O’Connor Park. 

Aaron Leavy’s late goal did give the crowd a cheer but by then it was too little, too late. 

Wexford, deserving four-point victors and through to the quarter-finals, Offaly down, out and left rueing an act of, somewhat, self-destruction. 


1Ian Duffy Goalkeeper
2Lee Pearson Defender
3Declan Hogan Defender
4David Dempsey Defender
5Cian Donohoe 22 Defender
6Peter Cunningham Defender 50'
7Ciaran Donnelly 23 Defender 39'
8Conor McNamee 19 Midfielder 24'
9Aaron Leavy Midfielder 76'
10Jordan Hayes Forward
11Ruairi McNamee Forward 36', 55', 67'
12Anton Sullivan Forward 8'
13Cian Farrell 18 Forward 5', 20'
14Joe Maher Forward 41'
15Nigel Dunne 17 Forward 16', 22', 28'
16Corey White Goalkeeper
17Bernard Allen 15 Forward 46', 61', 69'
18Jamie Evans 13 Forward
19Morgan Tynan 8 Midfielder
20Cormac Delaney Forward
21Jack O’Brien
22Nigel Bracken 5
23Aaron Brazil 7
24Mark Abbott
25Luke Egan
26Shane Tierney


1Darragh Brooks Goalkeeper 8'
2Brian Cushe Defender
3Dylan Furlong Defender
4Michael Furlong 22 Defender 55'
5Eoin Porter Defender
6Glen Malone Defender 14', 55'
7Paidi Hughes Defender 31'
8Liam Coleman Midfielder
9Niall Hughes Midfielder 52'
10Alan Tobin 20 Forward 60'
11Eoghan Nolan 19 Forward 10', 18', 25', 42'
12Kevin O’Grady 15 Forward 33', 43'
13Robbie Brooks 24 Forward 19', 65'
14Mark Rossiter Forward 38'
34', 40', 44', 75'
21Brian Molloy Defender 3', 14', 49'
15Ben Brosnan 12 Forward 58', 63'
16Anthony Larkin Goalkeeper
17Conor Carty Defender
18Cian Hughes Forward
19Conor Kinsella 11 Forward
20Darragh Lyons 10 Midfielder 65'
22Liam O’Connor 4 Defender
23Dean O’Toole Forward
24John Tubritt 13 73'
25Cathal Walsh Defender
26Richie Waters Forward

Past Meetings

(Preliminary Round)
2-13 3-11
Tailteann Cup
Chadwicks Wexford Park

(First Round)
1-12 1-15
Leinster SFC
Chadwicks Wexford Park


Glenisk O’Connor Park
O'Connor Park, Ardan Road, Tullamore Urban ED, The Municipal District of Tullamore, County Offaly, Leinster, R35 YF98, Ireland