Date Time Competition Season
9 July 2022 7:15 pm All Ireland Senior Championship 2022

Match Report

SFC: Champions Meath edge Galway thanks to late Duggan winner

Emma Duggan kicked a last-minute point to earn defending champions Meath a dramatic win over Galway in a tense TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship quarter-final at O’Connor Park in Tullamore.


1-11 to 0-9 in front with the finishing line in sight, the Royals found themselves pegged back.

The prospect of 20 additional minutes of action was starting to loom large in the Offaly venue, but the outstanding Duggan decided the outcome to book Eamonn Murray’s charges into a semi-final showdown with Donegal at Croke Park next weekend.

After she traded early points with Galway defender Nicola Ward, Dunboyne youngster Duggan rounded off a seventh-minute move by rattling the opposition net.

Orlagh Lally subsequently split the uprights to extend their lead but despite some early hesitation, Galway were slowly coming to terms with Meath’s rigid defensive system.

Following successive efforts from Olivia Divilly, Ailish Morrissey and Leanne Coen, Galway cut the deficit to a single point on 19 minutes.

Vikki Wall did break free for a Meath score but a Tracey Leonard free meant the title holders had to be content with a 1-3 to 0-5 interval cushion.

Although this slender advantage was wiped out by Divilly within 30 seconds of the restart, Meath didn’t panic.

Two points without reply from Stacey Grimes (free) and Aoibheann Leahy created some daylight between them and the westerners. While a Tracey Leonard free kept Galway in touch, Meath appeared on course for the penultimate round when Kelsey Nesbitt (two), Aoibhin Cleary and Grimes combined for four points in the space of five minutes.

The impressive Divilly and substitute Roisin Leonard kept the scoreboard ticking over for the Connacht champions but Meath did likewise through the reliable boots of Nesbitt and Grimes.Meath looked to be in full control inside the final-quarter, until Eva Noone followed a pointed free by Tracey Leonard with a superb goal from a left-hand angle. Leonard’s cousin Roisin was making a huge impact off the bench and she landed a superb score to level matters on 56 minutes.

This looked set to bring the game into extra-time but Duggan had the final say with a booming point on the right flank with just 15 seconds left on the clock.


1Monica Mc Guirk Goalkeeper
2Shauna Ennis Defender
3Mary Kate Lynch Defender
4Orlaith Duff Defender
5Aoibheann Leahy Defender 36'
6Emma Troy Defender
7Aoibhin Cleary Defender 44'
8Maire O’Shaughnessy Midfielder
9Orlagh Lally Midfielder 11'
10Megan Thynne 22 Forward
11Emma Duggan Forward 6'
1', 64'
12Kelsey Nesbitt 21 Forward 41', 47', 48'
13Vikki Wall Forward 22'
14Stacey Grimes 29 Forward 33', 43', 51'
15Niamh O’Sullivan Forward
16Robyn Murray
17Sarah Wall
18Aine Sheridan
19Ailbhe Leahy
20Ciara Smyth Forward
21Bridgetta Lynch 12
22Orla Byrne 10 Defender
23Saoirse O’Kane
24Aisling McCabe
25Aoife Farrell
26Olivia Gore
27Katie Newe Defender
28Meadhbh Byrne
29Emma White 14
30Regina Hand


1Alanah Griffin Goalkeeper
2Hannah Noone 28 Defender
3Sarah Ní Loingsigh Defender
4Eimile Gavin Defender
5Shauna Molloy 30 Defender
6Nicola Ward Defender 5'
7Kate Geraghty Defender
8Siobhan Divilly Midfielder
9Louise Ward Midfielder
10Leanne Coen 20 Forward 18'
11Eva Noone Forward 54'
12Charlotte Cooney 23 Forward
13Ailish Morrissey 21 Forward 17'
14Olivia Divilly Forward 15', 31', 48'
15Tracey Leonard Forward 24', 37', 52'
17Linda Booth Forward
18Jemma Burke
19Fabienne Cooney Defender
20Ailbhe Davoren 10 Forward
21Roisin Leonard 13 49', 58'
22Chloe Miskell
23Aoife Molloy 12
24Aoife Ní Cheallaigh Defender
25Aobh Ní Dhubhghaill
26Aoife O’Rourke Forward
27Ellen Power
28Mairéad Seoighe 2 Forward
29Kate Slevin Forward
30Chellene Trill 5


Bord Na Mona O'Connor Park
O'Connor Park, Ardan Road, Tullamore, The Municipal District of Tullamore, County Offaly, Leinster, R35 X865, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.