Date Time Competition Season
10 July 2022 1:30 pm All Ireland Junior Championship 2022

Match Report

Fermanagh reach Junior Final led by Eimear Smyth masterclass

Eimear Smyth led Fermanagh’s charge back into the TG4 All-Ireland Junior Championship Final as her 3-7 contribution was significant in their victory over Limerick in Kiltoom.


The 2020 TG4 Player of the Year was joined by Bláithín Bogue, Laura Grew (two) and Cliodhna McElroy as the Ernesiders overturned an early six-point deficit to finally book a ticket to Croke Park, after missing their chance two years ago.

Limerick made a strong start with four scores inside as many minutes. Mairead Kavanagh and Caitriona Davis pointed before the former finished off a rebound after Amy Ryan hit the post. Cathy Mee then made it 1-3 to 0-0.

Sarah Britton got Fermanagh off the mark on six minutes before Mee responded. Three minutes later, Smyth opened her account before a free left it 1-4 to 0-3.

Iris Kennelly converted for Limerick on 13 minutes but they wouldn’t score again for a quarter of an hour. Bláithín Bogue finished to the net for Fermanagh following good work from Britton and Cliodhna McElroy.

Smyth added two more points and Grew got Fermanagh’s second goal on 25 minutes. Limerick had been denied by the crossbar and a Roisin Gleeson sae from Lauren Ryan. The pressure was telling at the other end as Bogue won a penalty and Smyth made no mistake, for a 3-5 to 1-5 lead.

The Shannonsiders needed a response and captain Roisin Ambrose ran right through the centre before offloading to Kenneally who got Limerick’s second goal. Mee’s free reduced arrears but Smyth in response left it 3-6 to 2-6 to Fermanagh at half-time.

Davis and Kennelly brought Limerick back to within one after the restart but they lost Leah Coughlan to a yellow card. Fermanagh were getting chances but hit five wides and it took McElroy on 43 minutes to get their next score with their fourth goal.

Smyth got her second goal 60 seconds later before two more Smyth scores made it 5-8 to 2-8. Limerick didn’t relent and struck 1-2 unanswered through Katie Heelan and 1-1 for Kavanagh to bring them back to within four but Grew’s second goal settled it for the Ulster finalists.

O’Brien made it 6-9 to 3-10 before Limerick replied through Mee and Kennelly. Smyth completed her hat-trick in injury time to send Fermanagh to Croke Park as the Munster outfit will rue hitting the woodwork four times.


1Roisin Gleeson Goalkeeper
2Eimear Keenan Defender
3Molly McGloin Defender
4Shannan McQuade Defender
5Niamh Mc Manus 20 Defender
6Sarah McCarville Defender
7Cadhla Bogue 17 Defender
8Brenda Bannon Midfielder
9Aisling O’Brien 19 Midfielder 56'
10Elaine Maguire 21 Forward
11Blaithin Bogue Forward 14'
12Sarah Britton Forward 5'
13Cliodhna Mc Elroy Forward 42'
14Eimear Smyth Forward 27', 44', 61'
8', 11', 19', 23', 35', 49', 50'
15Laura Grew Forward 25', 55'
17Andrea Gordon 7 Defender
18Dee Curran Defender
19Nuala Curran 9
20Erica Douglas 5 Defender
21Erin Tierney 10
22Lucia Warnick
23Sarah Jane Jones Defender
24Kiera Elliott


1Sophie Hennessy Goalkeeper
2Kristine Reidy Defender
3Alva Quaid Defender
4Sarah O’Sullivan Defender
5Meadhbh MacNamara Defender
6Niamh Ryan Defender
7Aine McGrath Defender 65'
8Roisin Ambrose Midfielder
9Leah Coughlan Midfielder 36'
10Katie Heelan Forward 52'
11Rebecca Delee Forward 58'
12Cathy Mee Forward 3', 7', 32'
13Iris Kennelly Forward 28'
12', 34', 59'
14Mairead Kavanagh Forward 54'
1', 55'
15Catriona Davis 18 Forward 2'
1', 33'
16Carol Bateman Goalkeeper
17Amy Ryan Forward
18Lauren Ryan 21 Midfielder
19Rose Hyland Forward
20Maeve O’Halloran Defender
21Anna O’Dea 18 Forward
22Rebekah Daly
23Eibhlis Lee
24Lucy Costello
25Claire Hayes
26Eimear Kirby
27Cathy Ambrose
28Sarah Dillon Defender
29Noelle Curtin
30Grainne Mc Kenna Forward

Past Meetings

3-9 4-10
NFL Division 4
Coralstown/Kinnegad GAA Club


Kiltoom, Kiltoom Electoral Division, Athlone Municipal District, County Roscommon, Connacht, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.