Date Time Competition Season
28 May 2022 2:30 pm Leinster Senior Championship 2022

Match Report

Leinster SFC Final – Dublin claim the title

Hannah Tyrrell scored a second half penalty at Croke Park where Dublin secured a ninth consecutive TG4 Leinster SFC title with a narrow triumph over reigning All-Ireland champions Meath.


Having found themselves three points adrift at the break, a superb scoring blitz at the start of the second half put the Royal County in a strong position to claim their first provincial crown since 2000. However, Dublin held firm and Tyrrell’s calm finish propelled her side towards a 16th Leinster crown.

After a cagey start, Nicole Owens – a late addition to Dublin’s starting line-up – opened the scoring with a ninth-minute point. Meath’s defensive set-up ensured that clear-cut scoring opportunities were initially at a premium for their opponents, but Eamonn Murray’s team also took a while to settle.

On the other hand, Dublin were growing in confidence and moved four points in front courtesy of a brace from St Sylvester’s ace Kate Sullivan and another courtesy of the ever-influential Lyndsey Davey.

It took Meath all of 29 minutes to get up and running but even though Aoibheann Leahy found the target from close-range, Tyrrell’s first point of the day gave Dublin a commanding 0-5 to 0-1 cushion into the interval.

Yet the game was dramatically turned on its head upon the resumption as Meath registered 1-2 without reply to edge themselves into the ascendancy. Straight from the throw-in, 2021 TG4 Footballer of the Year, Vikki Wall played the ball into her Dunboyne clubmate Emma Duggan for a fine point from play.

Duggan had a subsequent effort that rebounded off the post but midfielder Orlagh Lally was on hand to claim the rebound and fire beyond the reach of Ciara Trant.A routine Stacey Grimes free suddenly presented Meath with a slender advantage in the 36th minute and while Dublin eventually responded with another Tyrrell point, a Wall score at the end of a trademark lung-bursting run kept the Royals ahead inside the final-quarter.

The pendulum swung back in Dublin’s favour on 47 minutes, however, when Tyrrell coolly slotted a penalty past All-Star goalkeeper Monica McGuirk.

Meath’s Maire O’Shaughnessy was sin-binned for a foot block on Owens in the lead-up to this score, but a second free by Grimes left the gap at a bare minimum upon her return. Wall was also yellow carded in a frantic finale, though, and with Niamh Hetherton adding her name to the scoresheet, it was Dublin who prevailed.


1Ciara Trant Goalkeeper
2Jess Tobin Defender
3Leah Caffrey Defender
4Martha Byrne Defender
5Aoife Kane 25 Defender
6Sinead Goldrick Defender
7Orlagh Nolan 19 Defender
8Jennifer Dunne Midfielder
9Kate McDaid Midfielder
10Kate Sullivan 18 Forward 16', 20'
11Caoimhe O’Connor Forward
12Sinéad Wylde 15 Forward
13Lyndsay Davey Forward 26'
14Hannah Tyrrell Forward 50'
30+2', 42'
23Nicole Owens Forward 9'
16Emer Ní Eafa Goalkeeper
17Niamh Collins
18Siobhan Killeen 10 Forward
19Lauren Magee 7
20Tammy Quinn Corbally
21Jodi Egan Forward
22Siobhan Woods
15Niamh Hetherton 12 Forward 60+3'
24Sinead Aherne
25Hannah Leahy 5 Defender
26Grainne O’Driscoll
27Rachel Brennan
28Katelyn O’Brien
29Natalia Hyland
30Ellen Gribben


1Monica Mc Guirk Goalkeeper
2Shauna Ennis Defender
3Mary Kate Lynch Defender
4Orlaith Duff Defender
5Niamh Gallogly Defender
6Emma Troy Defender
7Aoibhin Cleary Defender
8Maire O’Shaughnessy Midfielder 49'
9Orlagh Lally 20 Midfielder 33'
10Megan Thynne Forward
11Emma Duggan Forward 31'
12Aoibheann Leahy 22 Forward 30+1'
13Vikki Wall Forward 47'
14Stacey Grimes Forward 36', 56'
15Niamh O’Sullivan Forward
16Robyn Murray Goalkeeper
17Sarah Wall
18Aine Sheridan
19Ailbhe Leahy
20Ciara Smyth 9 Forward
21Bridgetta Lynch
22Orla Byrne 12 Defender
23Regina Hand
24Aisling McCabe
25Aoife Farrell
26Olivia Gore
27Saoirse O’Kane
28Meadhbh Byrne
29Kelsey Nesbitt
30Emma White

Past Meetings

(Round 2)
0-10 1-8
Leinster Senior Championship
Parnell Park

(Round 3)
1-8 1-9
NFL Division 1
Páirc Tailteann


Croke Park
Páirc an Chrócaigh, Jones's Road, Ballybough B ED, Dublin, Dublin 3, Leinster, D01 WY49, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.