Date Time Competition Season
9 July 2022 5:00 pm All Ireland Senior Championship 2022

Match Report

Kerry advance to last Four helped by on form Ní Mhuircheartaigh

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh struck 2-6 at O'Connor Park in Tullamore as Kerry set up a TG4 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship semi-final against Mayo with a four-point triumph over Armagh.

In addition to the Corca Dhuibhne ace’s scoring prowess, Niamh Carmody and Siofra O’Shea also rattled the net for the Kingdom. The majestic Aimee Mackin finished with an astonishing 0-11 haul for Armagh but the Orchard County ultimately suffered a second consecutive quarter-final exit.

After Ní Mhuircheartaigh and Aoife Lennon traded points in a pulsating start, Carmody combined to devastating effect with O’Shea for a superb fourth-minute Kerry goal.

The always-influential Mackin came to life with three excellent points, but additional scores from captain Anna Galvin, Danielle O’Leary and Katie Brosnan ensured the Kingdom were three points in front, 1-4 to 0-4, on the first-quarter mark.

Both teams remained committed to an all-out attacking approach as the action progressed and, as a consequence, there were goals galore towards the end of the opening period. While Lorraine Scanlon cancelled out a Mackin free, Armagh attacker Aoife McCoy shook the Kerry net in the 23rd-minute.

Buoyed by this score, the Ulster outfit went on to add points through Mackin (two) and the evergreen Caroline O’Hanlon. Even though a Ní Mhuircheartaigh goal briefly halted their march, another goal courtesy of Niamh Coleman left Armagh 2-8 to 2-5 ahead at the interval.

Galvin and Mackin added to their respective accounts with points on the restart, before Kerry narrowed the gap to the bare minimum with a two-point salvo by Ní Mhuircheartaigh. The travelling Kingdom supporters were then given a reason to be cheerful when O’Shea fired low to the bottom left-hand corner for her side’s third goal on 37 minutes.

A Ní Mhuircheartaigh free helped Kerry to build further momentum, only for a revitalised Armagh to once again restore parity with unanswered points from Mackin (two) and Kelly Mallon. Ní Mhuircheartaigh and substitute Erica McGlynn scored points in advance of Mackin’s 10th score of the game, but the Munster side were in sight of a last-four spot when Ní Mhuircheartaigh coolly slotted home a 53rd-minute penalty.

Yet another point by the immense Mackin kept Armagh in the hunt, but a similar effort from Ní Mhuircheartaigh at the opposite end put the seal on a magnificent win for Kerry.


1Anna Carr Goalkeeper
2Shauna Grey Defender
3Clodagh McCambridge Defender
4Cait Towe 18 Defender
5Niamh Marley Defender
6Lauren McConville Defender
7Grace Ferguson Defender
8Blaithin Mackin Midfielder
9Caroline O’Hanlon Midfielder 27'
10Eve Lavery Forward
11Niamh Coleman 17 Forward 29'
12Catherine Marley Forward
13Aimee Mackin Forward 4', 6', 8', 17', 26', 28', 30', 43', 50', 57', 65'
14Aoife McCoy Forward 24'
15Kelly Mallon Forward 49'
16Brianna Mathers Goalkeeper
17Niamh Reel 11 Forward
18Aoife Lennon 26 Forward 2'
19Megan McShane
20Fionnuala Mc Kenna Forward
21Megan O’Callaghan
22Caitriona O’Hagan
23Tiarna Grimes Defender
24Sarah Marley Defender
25Megan McCann
26Alexandra Clarke 18 Forward
27Caoimhe Dooley
28Aveen Bellew


1Ciara Butler Goalkeeper
2Julie O’Sullivan Defender
3Kayleigh Cronin Defender
4Eilís Lynch Defender
5Aishling O’Connell Defender
6Emma Costello Defender
7Ciara Murphy Defender
8Lorraine Scanlon Midfielder 18'
9Cáit Lynch Midfielder
10Niamh Carmody 18 Forward 3'
11Síofra O’Shea Forward 39'
12Anna Galvin Forward 8', 30'
13Katie Brosnan 29 Forward 14'
14Danielle O’Leary 19 Forward 9'
15Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh Forward 28', 58'
2', 34', 35', 42', 53', 66'
16Mary Ellen Bolger Goalkeeper
17Aoife Dillane Defender
18Caoimhe Evans 10 Forward
19Erica McGlynn 14 Forward 55'
20Ciara McCarthy Defender
21Niamh Ni Chonchuir Forward
22Niamh Broderick Defender
23Rachel Dwyer Forward
24Clodagh Ni Chonchuir
25Anna Clifford
26Mary O’Connell Midfielder
27Elizabeth Mohan
28Meadhbh Johnston
29Paris McCarthy 13
30Louise Galvin Forward

Past Meetings

0-12 1-12
NFL Division 2
Croke Park


Glenisk O'Connor Park
O'Connor Park, Ardan Road, Tullamore, The Municipal District of Tullamore, County Offaly, Leinster, R35 X865, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.