Date Time Competition Season
11 February 2022 8:15 pm United Rugby Championship 2021/22

Match Report

Munster comeback falls short against Glasgow

Glasgow Warriors emerged with the spoils in a rain spoiled, error filled United Rugby Championship clash with Munster in Scotstoun.

A late Jean Kleyn try went unconverted by Jack Crowley, as an unlikely Munster comeback fell short.

Scott Cummings crossed over for a try, before the break, to compliment Duncan Weir's penalties to edge the win.

The game was typified with handling errors, which contributed to a stop start nature, as free-flowing entertaining fair did threaten to break out on occasion.

On a night, that Duncan Weir kicked his 800 points, he opened the scoring in the 24th minute from a penalty. He had earlier missed the opportunity to open his account in the 9th minute.

Ben Healy opened Munster's account in the 36th minute with a penalty of his own.

Shortly after, Scott Cumming charged down, an attempted Neil Cronin clearance to score the game's opening try.

Glasgow led 10-3 at the break.

The second half was initially a tale of Munster attempting to build phases and find success by chipping behind the Glasgow defence.

It was largely unnoteworthy with the exception of Fraser Brown being sinbinned for cynical play on the deck, while Duncan Weir and Ben Healy swapped penalties in the 60th and 63rd minute.

The final 10 minutes came alive thanks to Jean Kleyn getting over for a close range try to move Munster to within two points.

However the conversion was missed, veering to the left of the posts.

The remaining exchanges proved to be feisty and full energy, however Glasgow quelled the Munster strive for momentum to hold on for a deserved win.

Glasgow Warriors

15Ollie Smith Full-Back
14Sebastian Cancelliere Winger
13Robbie Fergusson 23 Centre
12Sam Johnson Centre
11Rufus McLean 21 Winger
10Duncan Weir Fly-Half 40'
15', 60'
9George Horne Scrum-Half
1Oli Kebble Prop
2Fraser Brown 16 Hooker
3Simon Berghan 18 Prop
4Scott Cummings Lock 38'
5Richie Gray Lock
6Ryan Wilson 19 Flanker
7Thomas Gordon 20 Flanker
8Jack Dempsey No. 8
16Johnny Matthews 2 Forward
17Nathan McBeth Prop
18Enrique Pieretto Heiland 3 Prop
19Kiran McDonald 6 Lock
20Ally Miller 7 Forward
21Jamie Dobie 11 Back
22Domingo Miotti Back
23Stafford McDowall 13 Centre


15Mike Haley Full-Back
14Shane Daly Winger
13Chris Farrell Centre
12Rory Scannell Centre
11Simon Zebo Winger
10Ben Healy 22 Fly-Half 37', 63'
9Neil Cronin 21 Scrum-Half
1Jeremy Loughman 17 Prop
2Diarmuid Barron 16 Hooker
3Stephen Archer 18 Prop
4Jean Kleyn Lock 71'
5Fineen Wycherley Lock
6Jack O’Donoghue Flanker
7Chris Cloete 23 Flanker
8Gavin Coombes 20 No. 8
16Kevin O’Byrne 2 Hooker
17Josh Wycherley 1 Forward
18John Ryan 3 Prop
Cian Hurley Lock
20Alex Kendellen 8 Full-Back
21Patrick Pattersom 9 Back
22Jack Crowley 10 Full-Back
23John Hodnett 7 No. 8

Past Meetings

(Round 7)
13 (2T) - (4T) 27
Scotstoun Stadium

Glasgow Warriors v Munster


Scotstoun Stadium
Danes Drive, Glasgow City, Scotland, G14 9BH, United Kingdom