Date Time Competition Season
7 May 2022 3:00 pm European Champions Cup 2021/22

Match Report

CCup: Munster heartbreak after place kicks in Aviva Stadium

Munster saw their European hopes come to an end as they crashed out of the Champions Cup after losing out to Toulouse in a place kicking competition at Aviva Stadium.

The two teams wrote another thrilling chapter to their growing rivalry, as Toulouse made it back to back wins over Munster following their 33-40 win over The Red Army in last year’s knockout stages. 

On an enthralling afternoon in Dublin, the two teams couldn’t be separated after 100 minutes of play. and it went to a penalty shootout for just the second time in history. The first since the infamous Leicester Tigers vs Cardiff Blues semi-final in 2009.

Toulouse kept their composure in the shootout as they slotted over all four of their penalty kicks, and sent Munster crashing out of the competition for the second straight season. 

The hosts produced a monumental defensive effort as they carried a 10 point lead into the final 15 minutes of the game and looked to earn their first semi-final berth since 2019. But Munster fell short as three missed penalty attempts in the shootout saw Johann Van Graan’s men exit at the quarter-final stage in the most remarkable circumstances.

Munster started the game strongly as Alex Kendellan crashed over from close range to give the hosts an early lead. 

However, the defending champions couldn’t be denied as Romain Ntamack carried over from close range, before Matthis Lebel walked in for Ugo Mola’s side minutes later. Thomas Ramos converted both to make it 7-14.

Munster struggled to settle against the defending champions and Carbery’s missed penalty left Van Graan’s men reeling with just minutes left in the first half.

Nevertheless, Carbery made up for his kicking blunder as he produced a beautiful over-the-top pass to find Keith Earls, who scored in the corner for his 23rd Champions Cup try for the province. Carbery slotted over the difficult conversion to send Munster into the break level.

The hosts started the second period strongly as Chris Farrell broke through the defensive line, and released Mike Haley for the province’s third score of the afternoon. 

Things soon went from bad to worse for Toulouse as Rory Arnold was sin-binned for a tip tackle on Simon Zebo, before Carbery successfully added three points to Munster’s lead to make it 24-14.

Toulouse fought back as Lebel scored his second try of the afternoon to reduce the deficit to three points before Ramos added a late penalty to make it 24-24. Munster had the opportunity to close out the game moments later as Ben Healy attempted an audacious 56m penalty. Healy sent his attempt wide as the game went to extra time.

Both teams looked to deliver the killer blow in the extra period, as Ramos and Healy traded drop goal attempts. Neither could hit the final blow as extra time finished and a penalty shootout beckoned.

Conor Murray and Antoine Dupont both slotted over their attempts, before Healy sent his first attempt wide. Ramos, Carbery and Ntamack all successfully slotted over their kicks to make it 2-3 to Toulouse in the shootout.


15Mike Haley 22 Full-Back 45'
14Keith Earls Winger 39'
13Chris Farrell Centre
12Damian DeAllende Centre
11Simon Zebo Winger
10Joey Carbery Fly-Half 10', 40', 46'
9Conor Murray 21 Scrum-Half
1Josh Wycherley 17 Prop
2Niall Scannell 16 Hooker
3Stephen Archer 18 Prop
4Jean Kleyn 19 Lock
5Fineen Wycherley 20 Lock
6Peter O’Mahony 23 Flanker
7Alex Kendellen Flanker 9'
8Jack O’Donoghue No. 8
16Diarmuid Barron 2 Hooker
17Jeremy Loughman 1 Prop
18John Ryan 3 Prop
19Jason Jenkins 4 Lock
20Thomas Ahern 5 Forward
21Craig Casey 9 Scrum-Half
22Ben Healy 15 Back
23Jack Daly 6 Forward


15Thomas Ramos Full-Back 13', 17', 67'
14Dimitri Delibes 23 Winger
13Pierre Fouyssac 22 Centre
12Pita Ahki Centre
11Matthis Lebel Winger 16', 66'
10Romain Ntamack Fly-Half 12'
9Antoine Dupont Scrum-Half
1Rodrigue Neti 17 Prop
2Julien Marchand 16 Hooker
3Dorian Aldegheri 18 Prop
4Rory Arnold Lock 50'
5Emmanuel Meafou 19 Lock
6Rynhardt Elstadt 21 Flanker
7Thibaud Flament Flanker
8François Cros No. 8
16Peato Mauvaka 2
17Cyril Baille 1 Prop
18David Ainu’u 3
19Joe Tekori 5
20Selevasio Tolofua
21Anthony Jelonch 6 Flanker
22Baptiste Germain 13
23Maxime Medard 14


Aviva Stadium
Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road, Sandymount, Pembroke West ED, Dublin, County Dublin, Leinster, D04 CA43, Ireland