Date Time Competition Season
26 March 2022 1:00 pm United Rugby Championship 2021/22

Match Report

Storm’y end for Ulster in South Africa

A controversial ending at DHL Stadium saw Ulster slip to a 23-20 defeat to the DHL Stormers in the first game of their South African tour as Callum Reid saw a late game-winning try ruled out by the TMO.

Dan McFarland's side had battled back superbly from conceding two tries in the opening six minutes to put themselves in a position to win the game, and they thought they had done so when replacement prop Reid dived over the line.

However, the TMO intervened to point out a knock-on as he grounded the ball and, despite the appeals of captain Alan O'Connor, the decision stood and the South Africans held out for a narrow victory.

Ulster had their chances to win the game, particularly in the second half, however instead they lost their first game in eight outings and missed the chance to go top of the United Rugby Championship, instead settling for a losing bonus point.

After the first six minutes they would have taken that as their start couldn't have been much worse as they found themselves two tries down.

Scrum-half Paul de Wet started it off when he finished a lightning quick counter-attack started by Warrick Gelant and Leolin Zas, before Zas himself got in on the scoring when he was set over by Manie Libbok after a period of pressure in the Ulster 22.

The visitors struck back, though, as they finally got their driving maul working and Marty Moore crashed over from close range to get them on the board, although Libbok would send over a penalty to take the lead beyond a score.

John Cooney responded with two penalties of his own, although Libbok would take the lead to seven at the break with another penalty on the stroke of half-time.

The South African fly-half would add another kick shortly after the restart, but Stuart McCloskey showed incredible power to burst over the line, bumping off Libbok to go under the posts for what would prove to be the final score.

Rob Lyttle had a chance to go over in the corner but was held just short, and then Reid thought he had won it with just two minutes to go only for the TMO to step in and dash their celebrations.

DHL Stormers

1Steven Kitshoff 17 Prop
2Chad Solomon 16 Hooker
3Frans Malherbe 18 Prop
4Adre Smith Lock
5Marvin Orie Lock
6Deon Fourie 21 Flanker
7Ernst van Rhyn 20 Flanker
8Evan Roos No. 8
9Paul de Wet 22 Scrum-Half 2'
10Manie Libbok Fly-Half 3', 7'
27', 40', 54'
11Leolin Zas Winger 6'
12Damian Willemse 23 Centre
13Ruhan Nel Centre
14Seabelo Senatla Winger
15Warrick Gelant Full-Back
16JJ Kotze 2
17Brok Harris 1 Prop
18Neething Fouche 3
19Connor Evans
20Hacjivah Dayimani 7
21Junior Pokomela 6
22Herschel Jantjies 9 Scrum-Half
23Rikus Pretorius 12


1Eric O’Sullivan 17 Prop
2Rob Herring 16 Hooker
3Marty Moore Prop
4Alan O’Connor Lock
5Kieran Treadwell 19 Lock
6Greg Jones 20 Flanker
7Marcus Rea Flanker
8Duane Vermeulen No. 8
9John Cooney 21 Scrum-Half 22', 57'
32', 38'
10Billy Burns Fly-Half
11Rob Lyttle Winger
12Stuart McCloskey Centre 56'
13Stewart Moore 22 Centre 21'
14Craig Gilroy 23 Winger
15Michael Lowry Full-Back
16Tom Stewart 2 Hooker
17Callum Reid 1 Forward
18Gareth Milasinovich 13 Prop
19Mick Kearney 5 Lock
20Jordi Murphy 6 Flanker
21Dave Shanahan 9 Scrum-Half
22Luke Marshall 13 Centre
23Ethan Mcilroy 14 Back


Cape Town Stadium
Cape Town Stadium, South Forecourt, Cape Town Ward 115, Cape Town, City of Cape Town, Western Cape, 8005, South Africa