Date Time Competition Season
13 August 2022 5:00 pm All Ireland Junior Championship 2022

Match Report

Antrim win All Ireland Junior Title in Armagh

Grainne McLaughlin was inspirational as Antrim won the TG4 All-Ireland JFC title for the first time in 10 years.

McLaughlin kicked over 8 points (two frees) and was involved in a lot of Antrim’s good play.

First half goals from Lara Dahunsi and Cathy Carey (penalty) gave the Saffrons a five point lead at the break - 2-05 to 0-06. The penalty which Carey put away in the sixth minute was a strange decision made by referee Lorraine O’Sullivan. 

Eimear Smyth kept her side in the contest kicking five points in the opening half (just one from a free).

Inside the opening eight minutes of the second half Antrim stretched the lead to nine points. Fermanagh could only get while Carey sealed a fine win with her second and Antrim's third goal in the 53rd minute. 

Smyth and Grainne McLaughlin exchanged early frees before Antrim got their first goal; a mistake in the Fermanagh defence allowed Dahunsi gained possession and she lobbed Roisin Gleeson with a terrific shot. 

Smyth replied with a fine point for Fermanagh. In the sixth minute referee Lorraine O’Sullivan awarded a penalty to Antrim; much to the amazement of the majority of people in the Athletic Grounds. Saffrons’ captain Carey tucked away the penalty. 

That score rocked the Erne County but they did cut the gap to three in the 16th minute but those scores were wiped out in the space of one minute.

Antrim’s forwards were dangerous and a point from Bronagh Devlin in the 19th minute extended the Saffron’s lead to six points.

Right before half-time, Smyth was on target again, making room before she shot over a good point. 

At the start of the second half Smyth was unlucky to see her effort come off the post. Antrim went down the field and went seven ahead in the 35th minute with points from McLaughlin and Caitlin Taggart. 

The lead was nine in the 38th minute as Fermanagh struggled with the pace of the Antrim forwards and couldn’t find a way to get scores themselves. 

Fermanagh’s first point in the second half didn’t arrive until the 43rd minute; Smyth with a free. Once again Emma Kelly’s side hit back with McLaughlin once again to the fore.

Carey grabbed a third goal in the 53rd minute as Antrim claimed the West County Hotel Cup for a third time.



1Roisin Gleeson
2Eimear Keenan Defender
3Molly Mc Gloin Defender
4Shannan McQuade
5Niamh Mc Manus Forward
6Sarah Mc Carville
7Cadhla Bogue 24 Midfielder
8Brenda Bannon Midfielder
9Aisling O’Brien 20
10Elaine Maguire 21 Forward
11Blaithin Bogue Forward 46', 54', 58'
12Sarah Britton
13Cliodhna Mc Elroy Forward
14Eimear Smyth Forward 2', 5', 8', 15', 29', 43', 60'
15Laura Grew 19 Forward
17Andrea Gordon Defender
18Dee Curran Defender
23Sarah Jane Jones Defender
20Erica Douglas 9
24Kiera Elliott 7
22Lucia Warnick
19Nuala Curran 15
21Erin Tierney 10 16'

Past Meetings

1-13 1-13
All Ireland Junior Championship
Croke Park

2-13 1-15
Ulster Junior Championship
O'Neill's Healy Park

(Semi Final)
1-10 2-13
Ulster Junior Championship

(Round 2)
2-11 2-9
NFL Division 4
Bawnacre, Irvinestown


Athletic Grounds, Armagh
Athletic Grounds, Dalton Park, Armagh, County Armagh, Northern Ireland, BT60 4AB, United Kingdom

Deniese is a freelance sports journalist/broadcaster. She has worked for several local and national media outlets. GAA and soccer are her great loves and she also follows rugby league and snooker. She's a big supporter of her local clubs St. Mary's GAA Granard and Longford Town. She also follows Celtic, Liverpool and Leeds Rhinos. She presented and produced a popular sports podcast last year where she interviewed Ray Houghton, Chris Kamara and John Hartson. Deniese is currently Head of Communications for Boccia Ireland