Date Time Competition Season
10 April 2022 2:00 pm NFL Division 2 2022

Match Report

Third time lucky for Kerry as they deliver Division 2 title

Kerry are the 2022 Division 2 Lidl Ladies National Football League winners, after a 1-12 to 0-12 win over Armagh in Croke Park.

Danielle O’Leary was the hero on the day for the Kingdom, as her 1-2 off the bench banished the demons of last year, as Kerry are promoted to Division 1.

Despite 0-6 from Aimee Mackin, Armagh will remain in the Division next year, but do have the ability to challenge for a title next season.

The Kingdom started with two quick fire points in the opening two minutes, to pull out an early lead with Niamh Ní Chonchuir and Aishling O’Connell both raising the white flag. 

Armagh responded with their first major chance, Eve Lavery a late substitute, pointing from close range after four minutes, before they started to get the attacks off with Caroline Marley and Blaithin Mackin kicking scores, to put them one point ahead before the 10 minute mark.

A couple of dropped short kicks at goal was all Kerry could manage after their second point, a great chance saw Erica McGlynn in front of goal but her shot rebounded off the crossbar. Armagh were not having those issues, Aimee Mackin with a close range free to make it 0-4 to 0-2 after 13 minutes.

Despite McGlynn scoring a point after the 14 minute mark, Armagh remained ahead by two before the water break as Mackin kicked another free, despite Ní Chonchuir having a goal chance in between.

Two quick points after the water break by Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh, had Kerry back on level terms but the forward would be sent to the sin bin a minute later, picking up a yellow card for a high tackle.

Armagh took full advantage of the extra player kicking three quick scores in succession, taking the lead once more now ahead by three. McGlynn kicked her second point a minute before the hooter would sound, to cut the deficit at half time to just two points 

Mackin pushed Armagh four ahead seven minutes into the second half, kicking her third free of the afternoon. O’Leary kicked the next Kerry score minutes after coming off the bench.

But again Mackin cancelled the score out this time from play, as she was causing issues in the Kerry defence, as Armagh went back ahead by three points. She would make it a four point game with another from play after the 42 minute mark.

With Kerry facing a tough attack at one end of the Croke Park turf, at the other O’Leary found space to attack the Armagh defence and hit a low shot past Anna Carr to raise the green flag, making it a one point game after 44 minutes, 1-7 to 0-11.

Kerry looked to have found a purple patch after the goal, but another dropped ball inside saw them lose possession, Armagh took advantage attacking into the David end before Aoife Mc Coy pointed, to make it two points before the water break.

In similar fashion to the opening half, Ní Mhuircheartaigh got on the board with her third point of the afternoon, landing a free from close range, to again make it a one point game. Cait Lynch levelled the tie after 53 minutes, an unlikely scorer but a crucial one for the Kingdom.

O'Leary was a crucial impact sub for Kerry as she kicked them in front after 54 minutes, despite Armagh attacking they failed to draw level but a short range Ni Mhuircheartaigh free three minutes from time had them 1-11 to 0-12 ahead.

Just as she had done minutes earlier another late Ní Mhuircheartaigh free but Kerry three ahead, as O’Leary was again the player fouled in the build up as Armagh failed to contain her.


1Anna Carr Goalkeeper
2Shauna Grey Defender
3Clodagh McCambridge Defender
4Grace Ferguson 23 Defender
5Tiarna Grimes Defender
6Lauren McConville Defender
7Cait Towe Defender
8Niamh Marley Midfielder 59'
9Blaithin Mackin Forward 9'
10Catherine Marley 19 Forward 8', 24'
21Eve Lavery 17 Defender 4'
12Niamh Coleman 11 Midfielder 27'
13Aimee Mackin Forward 13', 18', 25', 37', 40', 42'
14Aoife McCoy Forward 47'
15Niamh Reel 28 Forward
16Brianna Mathers Goalkeeper
11Fionnuala Mc Kenna 12 Forward
17Sarah Marley 21 Defender
18Megan McShane
19Megan McCann 10
20Caitriona O’Hagan
22Aoife Lennon Forward
23Caroline O’Hanlon 4 Midfielder
24Grainne Boylan Forward
25Megan O’Callaghan
26Caoimhe Dooley
27Alexandra Clarke Forward
28Kelly Mallon 15 Forward
29Aveen Bellew


1Ciara Butler Goalkeeper
2Ciara O’Brien Defender
3Kayleigh Cronin Defender
4Julie O’Sullivan Defender
5Aishling O’Connell Defender 2'
6Cáit Lynch Defender 53'
7Ciara Murphy 19 Defender
8Lorraine Scanlon Midfielder
9Emma Costello Defender
10Niamh Carmody 29 Forward
11Caoimhe Evans 17 Forward
12Anna Galvin Midfielder
13Niamh Ni Chonchuir 21 Forward 1'
14Erica McGlynn 24 Forward 14', 29'
15Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh Forward 20', 21', 48', 59'
16Mary Ellen Bolger Goalkeeper
17Danielle O’Leary 11 Forward 44'
39', 54'
18Aoife Dillane Defender
19Meadhbh Johnston 7
20Clodagh Ni Chonchuir
21Paris McCarthy 13
22Katie Brosnan Forward
23Ciara McCarthy Defender
24Rachel Dwyer 14 Forward
25Anna Murphy
26Anna Clifford
27Keri-Ann Hanrahan Forward
28Emer Riordan
29Mary O’Connell 10 Midfielder
30Eilís Lynch Defender


Croke Park
Páirc an Chrócaigh, Jones's Road, Ballybough B ED, Dublin, Dublin 3, Leinster, D01 WY49, Ireland

Diarmuid Kearney is a freelance Sports Journalist based in Co Kerry. He has more than 5 years experience covering domestic and international soccer for different media organisations, while also working for local and national print and digital organisations covering GAA.