Date Time Competition Season
20 August 2022 7:00 pm Leitrim Senior Football Championship 2022

Please support our match sponsor:

Match Report

LM SFC Report: Mohill v Fenagh St. Caillins

Ray Tubman’s Fenagh overcame their neighbours Mohill in a thriller at Philly McGuinness park with three points to spare.

Having lost the last three championship encounters between the teams since 2020, Fenagh signalled their intent with a Ryan O’ Rourke point in the opening 20 seconds.

The lead didn’t last long with Keith Beirne blasting to the net in the second minute after a fielding a long ball from Domhnall Flynn. Beirne could have goaled again in the third minute but was denied by a great save by Shane Doonan in the Fenagh goal.

Doonan was again the hero for Fenagh in the 14th minute when he dived full stretch to deny Domhnaill Flynn what look like a certain goal with a blistering shot from the 13 metre line.

Immediately after the second Doonan save, Fenagh broke forward at pace and Fergal McLoughlin’s long ball in was caught by Oisin McLoughlin who rounded Padraig Tighe in the Mohill goal to fire Fenagh into a 1-4 to 1-2 lead in the 15 th minute.

With Ryan and Riordan O’ Rourke in terrific form, ably assisted by Oisin McLoughlin, the visitors went in leading by 1-8 to 1-6 at the half time whistle with Keith Beirne contributing the entirety of the first half scores for Eamonn O’ Hara’s team.

The second half was a ding dong affair with both teams in all-out attack with great forward play and some excellent defending especially from Shane Quinn at centre half back for Mohill who turned over Fenagh attacks time and again.

The Mohill rally came early in the second half with Beirne picking up from he left off at half time and contributed five more points together with efforts from Fiachra McGuinness, Ronan Kennedy and Conor Quinn.

The O’ Rourke cousins continued their excellent form with Ryan hitting two and Riordan sending over three points including the insurance score in the final minute to give Fenagh a two point cushion before Fergal McLoughlin gave his team a three point lead in stoppage time of this epic encounter.

The midfield battle was terrific all through with Keith Keegan and Jonathan Reynolds, and later Alan Armstrong, sharing the spoils with Donal Wrynn and Jack Gilheany in that sector over the hour.

Wrynn kicked two vital points from long distance placed balls close to the end when Mohill were piling on the pressure in search of an equalising score that wasn’t to come.

This was championship fare of the highest order and a treat for all spectators in attendance at Philly McGuinness Park.


1Padraig Tighe Goalkeeper
2James Mitchell Defender
3Sean Harkin Defender
4Ryan Bohan Defender
5Alan Tuthill Defender
6Shane Quinn Forward
7Oisin Madden Defender
8Keith Keegan Midfielder
9Jonathan Reynolds 20 Midfielder
10Alan McLoughlin Forward
11Keith Beirne Forward 3'
5', 7', 16', 17', 21', 28', 32', 39', 42', 45', 54'
12Domhnaill Flynn Forward
13Conor Quinn Forward 35'
17Fiachra McGuinness 14 Forward 47'
15Ronan Gordon 24 Forward
16Jason Farry Goalkeeper
14Jordan Reynolds 17 Forward
17Donal Duignan Defender
19Peter O’Neill
20Alan Armstrong 9 Forward
21Liam Rowley Defender
22Caillin Canning Defender
23Shane McGowan Defender
24Ronan Kennedy 15 Forward 56'
25Darragh Gordon Forward
26Darren McLoughlin Midfielder
27Johnny Boyle Defender
28David Mitchell Defender


1Shane Doonan Goalkeeper
2Tom McKeon Defender
3Mark Keegan Defender
4Diarmuid McGovern Forward
5Michael Doonan Forward
6Conor Dwyer Defender 23'
18Caillin O’Rourke Defender 37'
8Jack Gilheany Midfielder
9Donal Wrynn Midfielder 46', 49'
10Fergal McLoughlin Forward 60'
11Ryan O’Rourke Forward 9', 12', 20', 26', 27', 50'
12Tom Gilheany Defender
13Oisin McLoughlin Forward 15'
11', 30+2'
14Riordan O’Rourke Forward 2', 30+1', 33', 45', 59'
15Aaron Smith Forward
16Ryan Smith Goalkeeper
17Aaron McLoughlin Defender
7Conall McGovern Defender
19Niall Butler Midfielder
21Alan Doonan Forward
23Cormac Redican Defender
24Caolan McDermott Defender
25Richard Heaney Defender
26Rian McWeeney Forward
27Shane Smith Forward
28Eoin McLoughlin Defender

Past Meetings

(Round 3)
1-21 2-10
Leitrim Senior Football Championship
Philip McGuinness Park

(Semi Final)
2-7 1-16
Leitrim Senior Football Championship
Avantcard Pairc Sean Mc Diarmada

(Round 3)
1-11 1-9
Leitrim Senior Football Championship
Philip McGuinness Park


Philip McGuinness Park
Mohill, Leitrim, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.