Date Time Competition Season
10 September 2022 6:00 pm Leitrim Senior Football Championship 2022

Match Report

Mohill goals defeat Aughawillan in round 4 of the Leitrim Senior Championship

A flurry of goals from a potent Mohill forward line saw Eamonn O’ Hara’s team pick up the two valuable points on offer in an enthralling round 4 game played in summer-like conditions on Saturday evening.

The supporters in attendance at Philly McGuinness Park were treated to a score fest in which the more clinical Mohill team edged out the 2018 Champions by a seven-point margin. 

A brace apiece from Keith Beirne and Jordon Reynolds as well as an excellent finish from right half-back Alan Tuthill served notice that Mohill have the firepower to have a big say in the remainder of the campaign.

Despite kicking a fantastic 18 points the visitors will rue two missed gilt-edged goal-scoring opportunities in the first half when Gary Plunkett and later Morgan Quinn were brilliantly denied by Padraig Tighe in the Mohill goal.

Mohill led by 3-3 to 0-9 at the halftime whistle. The first goal came in the fourth minute when Jordon Reynolds caught a long ball before turning and finishing low to the net past Colin McGuire. Alan Tuthill scored the second two minutes later when he got forward to finish off a fine move involving Keith Beirne and Domhnaill Flynn.

Aughawillan relied on points from Morgan Quinn, Mark and Gary Plunkett and Pearce Dolan to leave the score 2-0 to 0-5 after 11 minutes.

Aughawillan were dealt a blow in the 12th minute when Fergal McTague was black carded by referee Gareth Foley and their woe was compounded in the 15th minute when Beirne hit the net from close range after beating three visiting defenders in the process.

Despite the goals conceded Aughawillan kept coming back and points were added by Morgan Quinn (3), Stephen Gilheany and Mark Plunkett left them trailing by three at the break.

Aughawillan, through Pearce Dolan, dominated midfield throughout the game and they started the second half brightly but couldn’t translate possession into scores and Mohill punished them in the 34th minute when Keith Beirne scored his second goal after a swift counterattack.

Mohill started to target their kick outs towards Alan McLoughlin in the right-half forward position and he really impacted the  Aughawillan dominance in the midfield sector.

Jordon Reynolds got on the end of a long delivery from Shane Quinn in the 48th minute and he expertly placed the ball into the Aughawillan net to leave eight points between the teams.

Aughawillan continued to rally and hit some excellent points from Barry Prior (2), Christy Prior, Brian Stringer, Morgan Quinn and Fergal McTague but they couldn’t get the vital goals needed to put pressure on the home team as the game entered the final stretch.

The winners responded with good scores from Domhnaill Flynn, Ronan Kennedy, Liam Rowley and the outstanding Beirne to set up a mouthwatering clash with Ballinamore in the quarter-final.


1Padraig Tighe Goalkeeper
28David Mitchell 17 Defender
3Sean Harkin Defender
4Ryan Bohan 20 Defender
5Alan Tuthill 22 Defender 5'
6Shane Quinn Forward 55'
7Oisin Madden Defender
8Keith Keegan 24 Midfielder
9Jonathan Reynolds 13 Midfielder
10Alan McLoughlin Forward
11Keith Beirne Forward 14', 34'
9', 12', 24', 35', 51', 63'
12Domhnaill Flynn Forward 39'
18Fiachra McGuinness Forward
14Jordan Reynolds Forward 3', 48'
21Liam Rowley Defender 47'
13Conor Quinn 25 Forward
15Ronan Gordon Forward
2James Mitchell Defender
16Jason Farry Goalkeeper
17Donal Duignan 28 Defender
19Peter O’Neill
20Alan Armstrong 4 Forward
22Caillin Canning 5 Defender
23Shane McGowan Defender
24Ronan Kennedy 8 Forward 38'
25Darragh Gordon 13 Forward
26Darren McLoughlin Midfielder
27Johnny Boyle Defender
29Daniel Beck Defender
31Barry Lupton Forward
32Conor Macklin
35Ciaran Baxter Defender
39Tadgh Mulligan Midfielder


1Colin Maguire Goalkeeper
17Declan McGovern Defender
4Michael Quinn Forward
2Niall Stringer Defender
6Barry Prior Forward 45', 58'
8Fergal McTague Defender 61'
7Sean Quinn Defender
3Noel Plunkett 10 Defender
9Pearce Dolan Midfielder 10'
26Stephen Gilheany 12 Forward 25'
11Gary Plunkett Forward 7'
19Brian Stringer Forward 43'
13Morgan Quinn Forward 2', 5', 20', 32', 36', 53'
14Mark Plunkett Forward 6', 23', 44'
15Ciaran Gilheaney Forward 43'
5Rory McTague Defender
10Ronan Maxwell 3 Forward
12Christy Prior 26 Defender 52'
16Yann LeGuen Goalkeeper
18Fionnbarr Quinn Defender
20Daire Maxwell Defender
23Gerry McGovern Forward
21Kieran O’Haire Defender
32Louis Smyth Defender
24Michael O’Hare Defender
31Órán Flanagan Defender

Past Meetings

(Round 4)
1-15 5-10
Masonite ACFL Division 1
Aughawillan GAA

(Round 5)
1-13 0-26
Leitrim Senior Football Championship
Aughawillan GAA

(Round 5)
0-6 5-16
Leitrim Senior Football Championship
Aughawillan GAA


Philip McGuinness Park
Mohill, Leitrim, Ireland

Get all the latest news, reports, results, fixtures, statistics and tables from the SSE Airtricity Leagues, All Ireland League as well as Inter county and club Gaelic Games.