Date Time Competition Season
21 May 2022 3:00 pm Tailteann Cup 2022

Match Report

Strong second half powers Wicklow win

An emphatic second half performance from Wicklow cemented their place in the next round of the Tailteann Cup after a 3-16 to 1-10 win over Waterford in Aughrim.

Two goals from Kevin Quinn and a rocket from Eoin Darcy sealed the important win.

It was a tighter first half than the final score suggested. Dean Healy was the man to score the first ever point in the Tailteann Cup before Brian Lynch equalised after just under a quarter of an hour played. 

Eoin Darcy and Podge O’Toole added further points for the hosts before Brian Lynch slotted over his second point of the game

Two frees from goalkeeper Mark Jackson as well as a free from Eoin Darcy gave Wicklow the advantage inside the first half.

Jason Curry was a bright spark in the centre of the park for the Déise. Curry and Mark Kenny added two points each before a point from David Halihan brought the game to within three points at half time.

Waterford found the first score of the second half through Curry again but a couple of frees from Mark Kenny and Mark Jackson kept Wicklow’s tally ticking over. Kevin Quinn finished excellently minutes later for the game’s first goal.

Mark Kenny showed his class throughout the game today and he added a point just seconds after Quinn’s goal.

Eoin Darcy was next to find the back of the net with a rocket of an effort to increase his side’s lead. 

Wicklow continued their free scoring form through points from captain Healy, Jackson, Eoin Darcy and Oisin McGraynor as the game drew to a close.

The Garden County were awarded a penalty just before full time and Kevin Quinn made no mistake from the spot.

Waterford did find a consolation late on when wingback Brian Looby buried the ball past Jackson.

Wicklow now face the winners of Offaly and Wexford who play tomorrow in the next round.


1Mark Jackson Goalkeeper 26', 31', 39', 59'
2Malachy Stone Defender
3Patrick O’Keane Defender
4Tom Moran Defender
5Nicky Devereux 20
6Zach Cullen Defender
7Oisin Cullen
8Padraig O’Toole Midfielder 16'
9JP Hurley 18
10Arran Murphy
11Dean Healy Midfielder 6', 46'
12Darragh Fitzgerald 22 Forward
13Mark Kenny Forward 35', 36', 37', 42'
14Kevin Quinn Forward 41', 69'
15Eoin Darcy Forward 44'
14', 29', 49'
16Robert Lambert Goalkeeper
17Jack Treacy
20Jack Kirwan 5
21Matthew Traynor
22Oisin McGraynor 12 68'
23Jacques McCall
24Noel Mulhall
25Christopher O’Brien
26Shane Doyle
18Rory Stokes 9 Forward


1Aaron Beresford Goalkeeper
2Liam Fennell Defender
3Darach Ó Cathasaigh Defender
4Michael Kiely Defender
5Dermot Ryan Defender
6David Hallihan Defender 36'
7Brian Looby Defender 70'
8Jason Curry Midfielder 33', 37', 36', 57'
9Michael Curry Midfielder
10Conor Murray 26 Forward
11Darragh Corcoran Forward 63'
12Jordan O’Sullivan 18 Forward
13Stephen Curry 19 Forward
14Tom O’Connell Forward
15Brian Lynch Forward 13', 19'
16Paudie Hunt
17Craig Burke
18Connor O’Carrbin 12
19James Walsh 13
20James O’Leary
21Tholom Guiry
22Sean Boyce
23Sean Walsh
24Gareth Duffy
25Aaron Jones
26Jack Keane 10
  • 70'

    Full time and Wicklow win 3-16 to 1-10.

  • 70'

    Brian Looby with a consolation goal late on here for Waterford.

  • 69'

    Kevin Quinn puts the icing on the cake with his second goal.

  • 63'

    Darragh Corcoran free for Waterford.

  • 60'

    Mark Jackson free

  • 57'

    Jason Curry free for Waterford.

  • 49'

    Eoin Darcy point.

  • 46'

    Dean Healy point for Wicklow.

  • 44'

    Eoin Darcy with a rocket of a goal, Wicklow cruising here.

  • 44'

    Kevin Quinn with a goal for Wicklow followed by a point from Mark Kenny

  • 39'

    Mark Jackson free for Wicklow to put them four ahead.

  • 37'

    Waterford open the scoring for the second half immediately before Mark Kenny slots over his third score from play.

  • 35'

    Half time here at Aughrim with Wicklow leading 0-8 to 0-5.

  • 36'

    David Hallihan pulls another back for Waterford.

  • 35'

    Mark Kenny and Jason Curry with scores for either side.

  • 33'

    Jason Curry with a score for Waterford.

  • 31'

    Mark Jackson with another free for Wicklow.

  • 29'

    Eoin Darcy free for Wicklow.

  • 26'

    Mark Jackson slots over a free from distance for Wicklow.

  • 19'

    Brian Lynch point for Waterford.

  • 16'

    Podge O'Toole with a point for Wicklow.

  • 14'

    Waterford equalise but Eoin Darcy puts Wicklow back ahead with a free.

  • 6'

    Dean Healy opens the scoring for Wicklow.

  • 5'

    Still scoreless after five minutes.

  • 1'

    We're underway.

  • Wicklow host Waterford here in Aughrim today for the provisional round clash. Whichever team progress will face the winners of Offaly and Wexford in the next round.

  • Hello and welcome to for the first ever game in the Tailteann Cup.



Luke is a final year Journalism student in DCU. He is a Sports Reporter for Wicklow People Sport and