Date Time Competition Season
26 March 2022 6:00 pm NFL Division 4 2022

Match Report

D4 FL Wrap – Cavan and Tipperary secure promotion

Cavan and Tipperary are looking forward to meeting each other at Croke Park in the Division Four final after they both secured promotion on Saturday evening.

Carlow and Wexford cancelled each other out in the early throw-in and it now means tomorrow’s game between Sligo and Leitrim is a dead-rubber after Tipperary’s win slammed the promotion door in the two sides faces. 

Carlow 0-14 Wexford 1-11

A last gasp free from Mark Rossiter rescued a point for Wexford as the two sides drew as they ended their underwhelming league campaigns.

Wexford hit the ground running in this one and took charge early and built a steady three point lead before Carlow got on the board.

Darragh Foley and Jamie Clarke were yet again doing the business for Carlow but Sean Ryan came off the bench to get the Wexford goal and put The Yellowbellies into the lead only for Carlow to hit back and take the lead before Rossiter rescued the game for the visitors.

Cavan 3-21 Waterford 0-10

Cavan secured their return to Division Three with a ruthless win over Waterford on Saturday evening.

Cavan knew what they had to do and they did it in style.

Thomas Galligan got the promotion party going and Waterford could have had a goal themselves but David Hallihan drilled his effort wide.

Cavan we’re nine points up at the break and Waterford never got within touching distance of the table-toppers and Cavan wrapped up the win and promotion with two late goals Caoimhín O’Reilly and Gearóid McKiernan both scored world class goals and put the icing on the promotion cake.

Tipperary 1-14 London 0-12

Tipperary are also looking forward to A Division Four final date at HQ and live in Division Three after the overcame a tough London side.

As mentioned in this weekend’s preview London weren’t just going to roll over for the hosts and gift them promotion on a plate.

Tipperary started the brightest in both half’s and that was London’s downfall. In all honesty the last three defeats are almost carbon copies as all apart from the Sligo game were narrow defeats.

Mark Russell got the Tipp goal after 21 minutes but London’s engine started to purr after they went eight points down.

Chris Farley and Liam Gavaghan got the Londoners in some sort of rhythm.

Matthew Walsh and Conal Gallagher added to London’s tally as the visitors went into the break five points down.

In the second-half London sensed some Tipperary edginess but failed to capitalise when they had to golden goal chances. Stephen Dornan had to settle for a point when his shot blazed over while Gavaghan was denied by a fine save by Michael


Conor Sweeney, Sean O’Connor and Stephen Quirke all got vital scores to make  sure of the win and wrapped up promotion.


1Raymond Galligan Goalkeeper 10', 18', 20', 33', 64'
2Evan Finnegan Defender
3Padraig Faulkner Defender
4Killian Brady 20 Defender 26'
5Jason McLoughlin 26 Defender 7'
6Conor Moynagh Defender 45'
7Luke Fortune Defender 53'
8James Smith Midfielder 31'
9Killian Clarke Midfielder
10Gerard Smith Forward 15'
11Gearoid McKiernan Forward 74'
42', 46', 53', 56', 58'
12Cian Madden 22 Forward 2'
13Cormac O’Reilly Forward 69'
14Paddy Lynch 21 Forward 11', 25', 40'
15Chris Conroy Forward 56'
16Liam Brady
17Benjamin Kelly 25
18Caoimhin O’Reilly
19Conor Madden Forward
20Cian Reilly 4 73'
21Thomas Galligan 14 16'
22Ryan O’Neill 12 Forward
23Thomas Edward Donohue
24Michael Argue Midfielder
25Niall Murray 17
26Stephen Smith 5


1Paudie Hunt Goalkeeper
2Craig Burke 17 Defender
3Darach Ó Cathasaigh Defender
4Aaron Jones Defender
5Jordan O’Sullivan 23 Defender
6Dylan Guiry Defender
7Brian Looby 22 Defender
8Jason Curry Midfielder 6', 8', 24', 39'
9Michael Curry Midfielder
10Conor Murray Forward
11James O’Leary 19 Forward
12James Walsh Forward
13Tom O’Connell 26 Forward 21'
14David Hallihan 20 Forward
15Darragh Corcoran Forward
16Aaron Beresford Goalkeeper
17Conor Walsh 2
18Conor Curran
19Stephen Curry 11 Forward 57'
20Brian Lynch 14 Midfielder 40'
21Keelan Taylor
22Sean Boyce 7
23Dave Meehan 5 Defender
24Gareth Duffy
25Rian Reddy
26Jack Keane 13

A new online platform featuring the latest Irish sporting news from the League of Ireland, Women's National League and domestic soccer.